Wednesday, December 14, 2011

Norman KRU honoured MPA Asia-Pacific

PRODUCER and recording artiste Norman Halim was honoured with the MPA Asia-Pacific Copyright Educator (A.C.E.) Award recently for helping the Malaysian Federation Against Copyright Theft (MFACT) to raise awareness on the importance of promoting content protection in the country.

MPA president and managing director Asia-Pacific, Mike Ellis, who presented Norman with the award, said in a press release that the latter had been actively involved in promoting the works of the local creative community.

“Norman has worked tirelessly with MFACT and MPA on several fronts, including leading the local community to push for legislation against cam-cording as well as for technical measures to prevent rogues from gaining access into Malaysian online space.”

He said Norman had provided insight into the “blood, sweat and tears that go into the production of films in the country”.

He continues: “Norman’s tremendous leadership and huge contribution is an excellent example for many in the industry. We look forward to continuing our work with Norman as we seek to promote and protect screen communities across Asia Pacific.”

Starting his career at EMI as singer, songwriter and music producer together with his brothers, Yusry and Edry under the name KRU, Norman has successfully transformed the pop group into an established entertainment brand in South East Asia.

He is currently the executive president of KRU Studios and chairman of Recording Industry of Malaysia, IFPI Asia Pacific Board Member and serves as the Anti-Piracy Committee chairman of the Malaysian Film Producers Association.

To date, KRU Studios has produced over 15 films including two international films that will be released soon, namely Vikingdom (starring Dominic Purcell, Natassia Malthe, Jon Foo) and Ribbit (starring Sean Astin, Tim Curry, Russell Peters), and is strengthening its international operations through its subsidiary, KRU Studios LLC, USA.

Speaking after receiving the award, Norman said: “I am honoured to receive this award. I’d like to thank MPA and MFACT for their support towards the local film community and their proactive efforts in promoting and protecting the rights of its content.”

A.C.E. Award was presented during the gala night at CineAsia, held at the Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre. It was attended by over 350 people representing the exhibition and film community in the Asia Pacific region.

CineAsia is the only international convention dedicated to Asian cinema exhibition and distribution and is now in its 17th year.

Past recipients of the A.C.E. Award include Australian actor Roy Billing (2010), Hong Kong producer Raymond Wong (2009), Thai producer and director Jareuk Kaljareuk (2008), and New Zealand actor Temuera Morrison (2007).